Nine Flags Project Flies on UO Campus

On November 3, 2014, nine flags were raised at the heart of the University of Oregon campus to honor the state’s nine tribal nations: Confederated Tribes of Warm Springs, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Reservation, Confederated Tribes of Grande Ronde, Confederated Tribes of Coos and Lower Umqua, Siletz Tribe, Cow Creek of Umqua Indians, Coquille Indian Tribe, Klamath Tribe, and Burns Piaute Tribe.

Located in the EMU Amphitheater, the Nine Flags Project is the result of nearly three years of collaboration between students and leaders in the UO Native American community. The Project was supported by many groups campus and state-wide, including: the Native American Student Union, the Native American Law School Student Association, the Native American Advisory Council, all nine confederated tribes, the ASUO, the UO President’s office, and the Museum of Cultural History.

Cameron McCarthy worked with the UO and students as prime consultant to design the layout and placement of the flags, create construction documents, and assist with construction administration.

Read original article

Source: Daily Emerald